IGC & E-Newsletters

International Geographical Union

The International Geographical Union was established in Brussels in 1922. Since its early days the Union has consisted of three major components: a General Assembly; an Executive Committee; Commissions and Study Groups. IGU membership is by country, and the general assembly consists of a delegate from each member country. HKGA belongs to the Hong Kong section of the IGU.


International Geographical Congress

The assembly of IGU normally meets every fourth year at an IGU Congress. From 26th to 30th August 2012, the IGU held in Cologne (Germany) its 32nd International Geographical Congress. Please click the following links for details:


IGU Newsletters

New series – starting January 2012


For previous issues & more information about IGU, please click the following links: